History

In 1920, the farmer Gaudiause Juneau had the idea of building chalets on the edge of the Saint-Augustin Lake. From this initiative, lodges 1, 8 and 10 were born. Once built, the locals began coming over to picnic and rent rowboats. The main building at the entrance of the camping was built as a country hotel. Later on during the passing years, Gaudiause Juneau’s son, Ulric Juneau, took the family buisness, seeing the potential in developing his fathers dream and decided to build 19 more lodges between 1951 and 1967. He even allowed some of his costumers to build their own cottages on rented areas of his land. Ulric then began creating camping sites and by 1965, Camping Juneau greeted its first camper on its land. By then, the entire campsite counted over 35 sites, 2 showers fascilities, one washing machine and a local snack bar / fast food restaurant. During those days, it only cost $1.50 a night to camp.

When Richard Juneau, son of Ulric Juneau and the third generation of the Juneau family, began to operate the camping in 1990, the camping counted over 75 sites. Encouraged by his wife, he added 40 more locations, 2 sanitary blocks, an entertainment center and 3 laundry amenities. The electricity, aqueduct and sewer network were all renewed as well as 20 chalets and the local snack bar.

Nowadays, our clientel consist of about 20 % seasonal and 80 % touristic customers.

Today, the fourth generation of Juneau’s are in charge. From a very young age, both Carmen and Mathieu Juneau, daughter and son of Richard Juneau, have been activily implicated in the family buisness. With vigous passion and a dedication like no other to their family roots, Carmen and Mathieu Juneau are ready to take on the task of continuing what their ancestors have begun over 50 years ago.

Book now by phone or online

Phone : 418-871-9090
Toll free : 1-866-871-9090

Book online

Historique

En 1920, l’agriculteur Gaudiause Juneau eût l’idée de bâtir des chalets au bord du lac. Les chalets 1,8 et 10 virent le jour. À l’époque, des gens venaient pique-niquer et louer des chaloupes et la grande maison à l’entrée était un hôtel de campagne. Son fils Ulric, lui succédant, vit du potentiel de développement et décida de bâtir 19 autres chalets entre 1951 et 1967. Il permit même à des clients de se bâtir en leur louant le terrain. Ainsi 4 autres chalets se rajoutèrent. Vers 1965, il reçut son premier campeur en tente.Le camping comptait 35 terrains, 2 douches, une laveuse et un petit casse-croûte. Il en coutait 1.50$/nuit pour camper. La clientèle de l’époque était composée de 90% de clients saisonniers et 10% de touristiques.

Lorsque la 3ième génération de Juneau, Richard fils d’Ulric commença à opérer le camping en 1990, il y avait 75 sites de camping. Encouragé par son épouse, il ajouta 40 sites, 2 blocs sanitaires, la place des loisirs et 3 buanderies. Le réseau électrique, d’aqueduc et d’eaux usées ont tous été refaits. Il rénova aussi 20 chalets et le restaurant pour que nous puissions manger à l’intérieur.

Aujourd’hui, la clientèle est composée de 20% de clients saisonniers et 80% touristique pour 132 sites et 25 chalets.

Bien qu’elle s’implique déjà depuis son très jeune âge, l’été 2011 sera la première saison entre les mains de la quatrième génération. Avec la tête pleine d’idées et la vigueur de la jeunesse, Carmen et Mathieu Juneau se lancent dans leur projet de vie avec la promesse d’être heureux.

Réservez dès maintenant par téléphone ou en ligne

Téléphone : 418-871-9090
Sans frais : 1-866-871-9090

Réserver en ligne